1973 Ironhead

This is my bike, 1973 Ironhead, who was the subject of a blog of the same name, where I chronicled the process of taking apart her apart and going through the engine, from February through October of 2013. Then, I got a job and she fell to the wayside. Then we had a baby. And a little over 2.5 years later, I’m ready to get back at it. Since this blog, workingclassmama.com, is all about the working class life which obviously includes motorcycle wrenching, I’m migrating my past posts over so there’ll be some history and continuity as I write new posts. In the meanwhile, please check out her past posts.

73-my-bike
My 1973 Harley-Davidson XLH Ironhead Sportster, 1000cc

71-xlh
1971 XLH (same model as my bike, two years earlier, with windshield)

73-xlch
1973 XLCH (the XLCH models came stock with the kick starter only and no electric starter)

75-xlh
1975 XLH (same model as my bike, two years later)

Illustrations from Harley-Davidson 1970-1978 XL/XLH/XLCH/XLT-1000 Service Manual, 1978

Leave a comment